Currently Not Coding…

  • Blog prompt: Using this week’s readings, videos, the group presentation, activities/discussions within the presentation, and any previous experience using coding/makerspace with students…within your blog address some of these questions about EITHER coding or makerspaces:
    • What value could this bring to your students?  
    • Do all students benefit? Who may not?
    • If you do not currently engage in this, what obstacles are holding you back?  
    • If you have taught this before, what has your experience been like? 

So, I will get right to it… as my title suggests, I am currently not using coding or makerspaces in my classroom and here are some reasons why…

First off, I do not consider my self a very “tech savvy” person. I know I have said this before, and I will say it again. I have always struggled to understand certain aspects of technology, and it has always stressed me out to feel almost ‘pressured’ to learn about coding, how to code, how to do it in my classroom, etc. I teach primary (currently Pre-K), so coding and using tech in my classroom is not on the very top of my list, as my students are currently learning how to independently take off their winter gear, zip up jackets, share and play with others, etc. But, even when I was teaching first and second graders, I felt like coding was not a priority for my classroom. I was always feeling overwhelmed and focused on reading scores, writing, and creating hands-on lessons for my students. I remember seeing in our staff announcement page, “coding in the gym- grade four,” or “coding booked in library” but there was never any explanation on it. I had no idea what this even meant! Maybe it was just me…but safe to say I would just ignore these announcement/reminders.

However, after saying all this, I will also say that I am not against coding/makerspaces and I do think that this technology could be very beneficial for learners! As the presenters suggested, coding/tech can build students’ problem-solving skills. It allows for student’s to be creative and build on their confidence. In the future, understanding coding/makerspaces could allow for better job opportunities…the list goes on and on about the benefits! However, in my person opinion, I think that coding would not benefit my class. I think that it would be more beneficial to the older grades. I understand that there are age- appropriate coding activities for younger students (like the one we participated in during the presentation), but I still do not see how it would truly benefit my kiddos. I also think that if teachers, like myself, had more time on their hands to actually learn about coding/makerspaces and attend different PD sessions, that more of us would be inclined and encouraged to bring our knowledge into the classroom. I feel as though I do not know enough about this technology to then teach it to my students and I feel that it would be time consuming to learn. I would be open to learning more if I had the opportunity…and time.

I would be interested in hearing from the perspective of a middle-years or high school teacher on the topic of coding, as I think I would agree to the benefits it would bring to a classroom of students who continue to be surrounded by technology.

Photo by Markus Spiske on Pexels.com

1 thought on “Currently Not Coding…

  1. Thank you for sharing your perspective! It’s understandable to feel overwhelmed by the idea of integrating coding and makerspaces, especially with younger students. Your willingness to consider the potential benefits while acknowledging your current priorities is commendable. Perhaps exploring age-appropriate options could gradually ease the transition. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a comment